1. Elder Care Jobs
  2. USA
  3. Washington
  4. Ocean Park

Jennifer T

No reviews yet
Seeking Senior Care Provider
Ocean Park, Washington
Active over a week ago | Posted over a month ago

Elder Care Job in Ocean Park, Washington

I'm an
Mom turned a young 96 on July 1st!! She is extremely alert and cognitive. Her sense of humor is quite refreshing. She likes to watch the news, sporting events and Jeopardy. She is an avid reader and will read (a good book) in a day. She also likes to work crossword puzzles. She is quite fond of her flowers as well. BELLA is her adored and much loved companion. She is an indoor ONLY Russian Blue (senior!) kitty that will do her very best to escape. Its next to impossible to catch her if she does manage to slide by. Bella escaping is extremely distressful for Mom. Our mom is very easy to care for, she is a pleasant and kind lady. She is ambulatory with her rollator, but unstable at times due to weakness and neuropathy. Vertigo is present frequently. Fluid has accumulated behind her RIGHT eardrum (again) and she needs another tube inserted. She has NO hearing in her LEFT ear. This hearing loss is NOT something a hearing aid can help. Please speak in a normal tone to her right ear. She is quite independent, but has found she needs help with getting her days started and with her evenings. She needs Her dinner, Bella's dinner, light housework and help getting ready for, and into bed safely at night. We are looking for someone to prepare and serve breakfast, set lunch out and then dinner is usually a heated Pre-made (homemade) freezer meal. There will be errands such as shopping for groceries or medication etc. Transportation to her medical Appointments, which are in Astoria or Warrenton. ******* MOM'S WEAKNESS HAS INCREASED. SHE IS NOW NEEDING HELP OUT OF AND INTO BED. SHE WILL NEED AT LEAST A 'STAND BY' WALKING EVERYWHERE. INCLUDING USING THE BATHROOM SHE IS STILL USING HER ROLLATOR, BUT WILL NEED A 'STAND BY' READY TO INTERVENE IF SHE HAS A PROBLEM WITH BALANCE OR STRENGTH. This is a 'changing' situation in terms of care. Mom is still, and will remain in control of herself, her home and what is needed. ***Due to her changing needs, some duties may not be needed, Some may be added, and existing ones may be increased...... AM SHIFT **HOURS** 930AM-1030AM Monday - Sunday **DUTIES** Help Mom get up for the day, toilet etc, assist with dressing (if needed). Bella fed, Mom will let you know portion and type of food. The litter box needs to be scooped daily. Mom will set the schedule for changing the litter. Make & serve breakfast, make & set lunch out (usually 1/2 sandwich and a small side dish), She also needs someone to perform light housework, to include making her bed, periodic dusting,0 vacuum and mop the kitchen floor (when needed), clean the master bathroom (toilet, sink/counter area) Daily. (Mirror weekly). Pullups to garbage and replace bag, when full. A bath once a week, or sooner if needed. She will ask to have her hair washed. Please change her bed sheets on 'bath' days. PM SHIFT ***HOURS*** 5:00PM - 7:00P Monday - Sunday **DUTIES** Check the wire basket hanging from the wreath on front door. Decide with Mom what she wants for dinner. My sister and I do our best to keep a large amount of dinners available for Mom. They are either Inside or in the canning kitchen freezer. Please clean kitchen, wiping counters and the stove top. Take garbage out. Feed Bella. This longer shift will probably be when housework is able to be completed. Her pajamas brought to the couch. She generally will change into them by herself, but quite often it is at this time that her balance is challenging for her. A 'help' up and a 'follow' into the bathroom is now needed. As she brushes her teeth, her walker/rollator needs to be turned around with brakes set. If she has any balance problems, all she has to do is sit down. After she has finished in the bathroom help into bed. With her cell phone, charged please. The PM shift is also to include closing the house down. This entails securing windows and closing blinds. Checking the furnace setting, Making sure all doors (including garages) are locked for the night. **The pull up disposal can has a bag that needs to be removed (when full) zip tied off and replaced by pulling another length down. The waste can under the kitchen sink needs to go out every night (unless it isn't very full) Bella tends to open the door in the kitchen and helps herself to the garbage goodies (ick) so please take chicken bones, etc to the garbage daily so she doesn't choke. Casually ask if she remembered her meds. This serves as a reminder. The eye drops at night are for glaucoma. She does the drops herself. Mom orderes and manages all aspects of her medication. Mom is NOT fond of water, so we put water in front of her a couple of times a day. She does not want ice cubes. It is too cold and she will not drink it. Mom will direct laundry frequency and what is to be washed together. (Or not) Thank you


Work schedule:
Live out
Long term
Schedule TBD
Start ASAP

Job details

Additional info:
Comfortable with family pets
Location of care:
In private home

Required qualifications

Access to vehicle
Drivers license

Services needed

Responsibilities will include:
Access to vehicle
Home care
Personal care

Share This Profile

Find Elder Care Jobs in Ocean Park, Washington
More jobs in Ocean Park, Washington