Ben H

Compassionate, Understanding and Knowledgeable Caregiver with Caring Warmth
Toronto, Ontario
Last seen over a week ago

Want to be hired by Ben?

Apply Now

Elder Care Job in Toronto, Ontario

Hello Cecille a short family background: lost sister (Rachel) to in 2000 lost brother (Paul) in early 60’s due to heart failure at a month old my mother is bi-polar and is a depressive my father is depressive and has cognitive issues my father likes to drink a beer or two prior to his meal – may seem ‘tipsy’, but it is his norm before meals. family has had a past of addiction, though i’m not sure where this stands now as they are too elderly to go beyond limits set by their doctor and their physical mobility. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- proposed list of duties for the assigned PSW’s that would be at my parents home 3 afternoons per week during 4 hour afternoon stay PAW duties will include but are not limited too: -ask about medications and remind my father about HIS pills mostly as he doesn’t have anyone to persue this. (high blood pressure medicine a priority) -laundry- wash/dry/fold/put away once per week- unless required more often, then another load of laundry may be requires (doubtful though) -fresh towels replaced and provided (PAW may organize linen closets to suit their needs for towels and bed sheets etc) -‘homestyle’ meal (nothing spicy), portion size to be determined by my father and mother, they eat small but if my father is cheerful enough, he will eat more. relaxation and assurance that things are ‘ok’ is important. -sundays to be a small roast beef dish with a potato and vegetables & small desert. -meal to be served to my father at table with cutlery, napkin and place mat-PLEASE ENCOURAGE HYDRATION.water/ fluids for my father. -my mother eats very light and must have small meals (by her request) brought to her bed for consumption. she will make the PAW or my father aware of what she would want (usually something small from the meal or fridge) -all dishes in sink to washed (post meal), dried and put away -PAW to make list for grocery delivery once per week-emailed to me for delivery-if for some reason groceries were not followed up upon, please have PAW be “creative” with what is in the fridge and on hand -change bed sheets on all three occupants beds - turn down beds for bedtime- “make beds welcoming” -change diaper for my mother. -sit my mom up and engage her (mom) in conversation. my mother loves to read. (BOTH my mother and father are artists and have loved each other all of their lives, so art and how shared their lives would be a great topic) -PLEASE ENCOURAGE HYDRATION. water/ fluids for my mother. helping her drink water by PAW is a major asset as she cannot use her hands. -engage in conversation with my father. (BOTH my mother and father are artists and have loved each other all of their lives, so art and how shared their lives would be a great topic) -empty all garbage/refuse pails in bathrooms and kitchen-replace bags where needed – place garbage in city bins provided on back deck at back door. -check on toilet paper inventory (!) and change roll if needed in main and upper floor bathroom if needed. IF PAPER INVENTORY IS LOW, LET ME KNOW FOR NEXT GROCERY ORDER. -if my mother is up to it, transfer my mom to house stair lift and bring her downstairs for a visit in her living room. -if father heads to bed as PAW is leaving residence, please ensure all lights and stove/power is turned off. -main floor living room vaccuming if time permits-also under dining room table (crumbs) kindness and understanding is a key factor in these 4 hour visits.Speaking loudly to my mother and father is important as well as they are hard of hearing. please contact me if you feel you would like a chance to assess the situation and implement the specifications I have outlined for my parents. Ben


You can work:
Start ASAP
Schedule TBD

Services Needed

Personal care
Nursing care
Mental health disability
Intellectual disability
Post operative care
Your responsibilities will include:
Bowel care
Non-sterile simple dressings
Medication/blister packs
Administer medication

Share This Profile

Want to be hired by Ben?

Apply Now
Find Elder Care Jobs in Toronto, Ontario
More jobs in Toronto, Ontario


1100-119 Spadina Ave

Toronto, On