1. Elder Care Providers
  2. Canada
  3. Ontario
  4. Toronto

Margarita T

No reviews yet
Excellent Elder Care Provider
Toronto, Ontario
Active over a week ago

Rather have people reach out to you?

Creating a profile allows others to reach out to you, or letting you reach out to them

Elder Care in Toronto, Ontario

I'm an
Individual
Greetings Families! I am a Registered nurse in the Philippines with 2 years of hospital experience in a government hospital seeking for a long term live-in/out elderly caregiver position under LMIA program. I am Margarita Tomas, 28 years of age and currently living in Norway. With 4 years of professional care for Intellectually Disabled Patient and currently 2 years of being an Au Pair in Norway, I am well prepared to handle the duties involved in this important job. As a Nursing aide @ MINDS (Movement for Intellectually Disabled of Singapore), I provide daily care to our adult and elderly residents with intellectual disability, autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy and dementia carrying out their activities of daily living, helping them in their routine activities like feeding, bathing and grooming, organizing some activities like community mobility, arts and crafts and some simple game to keep them happy and feel loved most of the time. Because of their vulnerability keeping them safe all the time is our main priority. Currently an Au pair in Norway, I am taking care of 4 children ages 14, 12, 10, and 4.Two of which needs a special care because of their medical condition. ( 4, Cerebral palsy and cognitive problem) and ( 10, Cerebral Palsy and epilepsy).Being an au pair, I have gained unforgettable memories through creating a strong bond with my host family, obtaining personal growth through conquering moving to a foreign country, and exploring the different culture, language, food, architecture and a once in a lifetime experience of seeing the other side of the world(travelling is a major major bonus):). My roles and responsibilities to the children is to act as their "big sister" especially when the parents are not around. Others may include getting them ready for the school, accompanying the youngest to and from school, doing light household chores such as cleaning, dusting, vacuum, laundry, changing bed linens and preparing and cooking meals for the family. Growing up in the Philippines, I value my family very much and they are always number one in my priorities. If I will be given a chance, I will assure that I will treat you the same way I treated & love my family at home. As an individual, I am an outgoing person and proven to have long patience. I value respect, honesty and professionalism. I am a hard working person, highly driven and flexible. I take initiative as to what needs to be done. I’m a pet lover too and comfortable with travelling and good in taking instructions. I have trainings and I’m a keen learner and have the ability to remain calm during emergency situations. I would love the opportunity to work with you as a Live In Caregiver and to develop this kind of caring on one on one relationship. My experience combined with my compassionate nature makes me well suited for the position. I would appreciate hearing from you soon.Thank you very much for your time and consideration. EMPLOYMENT HISTORY: STAFF NURSE: • Assess patient health problems and needs. • Develop and implement nursing care plans and maintain medical records. • Administer nursing care to ill, injured, disabled patients. • Advice patient on health maintenance and disease prevention or provide case management with accordance to community and clinical settings NURSING AIDE: • Prepare and change beddings, towels, pillows that will be used by residents. • Assist residents with their demands and needs. Move, lift & transfer residents from bed to wheelchair & vice versa. • Bathe and groom the residents. • Prepare the meal of the patients; feed them if necessary. • Takes and records patient’s temperature, blood pressures and respiration rates. • Accompany the residents to their medical appointment. AU PAIR: • Getting them ready for the school • Dropping the kids to the school • Doing light household chores such as cleaning, dusting, vacuum, laundry and changing bed linens • Preparing and cooking meals for the family • Accompanying the mother sometimes to the hospital for their children’s medical appointment • Observe and monitor children's activity • Instruct them in health and personal habits such as eating, resting and toilet habits. • Assist in preparing food and serve them some nutritious meals and refreshments during their rest period • Assume full responsibility of household in absence of parents • Immersing and enjoying myself to the new cultures, traditions, experience, impressions and perspectives of being an au pair. EDUCATIONAL ATTAINMENT: College: Bachelor of Science in Nursing The Good Samaritan Colleges Graduate ( Licensure Examination for Nurses--Board Passer) Baguio City, 2009
Gallery Photo

Availability

I can work:
Full-time
Live in
Live out
Long term
Schedule TBD
Start ASAP

Education level

Level of education: Completed university

Job details

Additional info:
Comfortable with family pets
I can provide care:
In nursing home
In private home

Qualifications

CPR
First Aid
Sponsorship

Services

Responsibilities include:
Administer medication
Assessments
Bathing
Bowel care
Companion
Dementia care
Dressing & wounds
Errands
Groceries
Home care
Housekeeping
Injections
Intellectual disability
Laundry
Mental health
Non-sterile simple dressings
Nursing care
Personal care
Suction
Tube feeding

Training

I have been trained as:
Registered nurse (RN)

Languages

I can speak:
English
Tagalog

Recommendations

Alvic Joy O

Margarita Tomas is an individual driven with compasion and dedication. She was one of my colleague in Singapore way back 2015 working as a nursing aide. She's been employed there for 4 yrs taking care for intellectually disabled of different cases. For a year that we've been together, as a co-worker, she manifest characters that is said to be suitable in every task or specific jobs was given and will be given to her. She openly indulge herself with resiliency to every circumstances and challenges that might encounter. She's open minded, respectful,honest and easy to be with?. Alvic Joy Omamalin

Share This Profile