Kim Hailey

Overnight Care For Mother

Want To Be Hired By Kim? Apply Now


Family in Fayetteville

My mother was diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease about 5 years ago. I believe we may be in Stage 5 due to the symptoms that persist, however, her Neurologist says PD is such a grey area that there is no real test that can give a definite answer. I also believe that she has the type of Dementia that sometimes accompany the late stages of PD. I currently live in MD, while my brother, her care provider, lives in Fayetteville and has given up his life to move in with her and care for her except on the weekends when I come down to give him a break. Both my brother and I know that things will get worse for mom, but until then, we want to give her as much happiness as possible, which means letting her continue to live in her own home. Neither my brother nor myself have housing that could accommodate her, thus my brother living with her. This living situation is beginning to take a toll on my brother and his marriage/work. Mom falls all the time and doesn't sleep unless medicated. She understands what is going on and doesn't like it, but can't do too much about it. We have a sitter who stays with her from 6:45am - 5:30pm. My brother then comes straight to her house to relieve the sitter and mom's care is then in his hands. No down time for him at all. My mother is not one to sit still. She is up and down and moving about the house, trying to make dinner, trying to work in her office and so on. So my brother has to be right there with her as she is a constant fall risk, even when she uses the walker. He feeds her what little dinner she's willing to eat, then it is a constant battle to keep her awake until at last she falls asleep with medication assistance to stay asleep so he can sleep and function at work the next day. Before the medication assistance, she was up and down all night long starting about midnight to about 5:00am. Not good for her and not good for him. Thus the need for help with a professional night time sitter/care provider that will look after my mom while she is at her most vulnerable. Assist with up and down from bed, couch or recliner. Assist with toileting. Patience and respect for my mother is a must. I don't know the real hours needed as I'm not sure what time you would be needed nor how many days. If I can get my brother to agree to someone coming in to care for mom, it could be as early as 5:00pm, which would require dinner prep, dinner assistance, medication administration, tv time, bedtime prep, bedtime assistance, bedtime care. And then finish at 6:30am-ish. I just don't know. If my brother would come by at 5:30pm to relieve the sitter, do dinner with mom, do medication then go home. We wouldn't need someone until 7:00pm-ish. Is there anyone out there who might be able to help me out? Have you ever done anything like this before? Have you cared for someone with PD and slight Dementia?

Family Details

Email Address ...@aol.com Confirmed
Phone Number 301-213-... Confirmed
Pay Rate - $3,510.00
Unit: Pay Per Month
Services
Start Date: Asap Yes
Day To Work: To Be Determined Yes
Languages None Identitied

Notes

Your Note
Notes made here will only be seen by you. If you want to message the owner of this listing Send Them A Message

Share This Listing