Carol C

Full-time Senior Care for our two parents
Burnaby, British Columbia
Active over a week ago

Want to be hired by Carol?

Apply Now

Elder Care Job in Burnaby, British Columbia

Update May 2019: Part time or full time, but full time preferred. Schedule in flux right now, but normally starts at 9 am - 2 pm and 2pm - 9 pm. Temporary, with possibility of permanent. Decisions to be made shortly. Pay is offered at $20-21/hour, depending on experience and qualifications. All pay is done through a pay system, so statutory deductions etc. are paid. We have enjoyed having people work for us who are trained with a nursing background, due to the care needs of our father. Looking for a local resident only. ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Details; Our father/grandfather and our mother/grandmother need in-home support. Dad has myasthenia gravis and some cognitive gaps in memory. He likes to joke and be kind to his caregivers and friends/family. He has weak muscle strength and you will need to use a lift often and will need to know how to transfer him properly between bed-wheelchair (electric)--reclining chair and commode. He needs full personal care (getting dressed and cleaned up,, sponge bathing, showering, toileting (incontinent now), medicines, daily exercises and personal interaction). He also needs to be helped wit his eating and occasional accompaniment to dental appointments when family is not available Accompaniment at family events .. Your primary care role is to support him. Mom also has cognitive issues and is in good physical shape generally but needs to be reminded to do her medicines, to eat regular small meals, to exercise, practice singing, and to be helped with remembering things through her day, and staying unstressed when she is worrying about whether something needs to be done. . You will also be responsible for cooking meals for them, noting when food or other supplies need to be replaced, helping deal with scheduling calls/visits/passing on messages to family, light housekeeping per a schedule and doing laundry (Dad's sheets/clothes etc). Two members of the extended family currently live in the home and manage the caretaking schedule, issues that arise, and household maintenance issues. Other family members also help manage what needs to be taken care of. The other long term caregiver is also a good source of information and guidance should you have any questions/concerns.

Availability

You can work:
Start ASAP
Schedule TBD
Full-time
Part-time

Services Needed

Personal care
Physical therapy
Intellectual disability
Your responsibilities will include:
Bathing
Laundry
Meal preparation

Required Qualifications

Background check
You can speak
English

Training

You have been trained as:
Support worker

Job Details

You can provide care:
In my home

Share This Profile

Want to be hired by Carol?

Apply Now
Find Elder Care Jobs in Burnaby, British Columbia
More jobs in Burnaby, British Columbia

Want to be hired by Carol?

Apply Now