Tanya J

Dedicated, experienced amazing Alzheimer's caregiver wanted - moving to Ottawa end of Nov/early Dec

Ottawa, Ontario
Last seen over a week ago

3 years experience

3510/month

Want to be hired by Tanya?

Family in Ottawa, Ontario

We are currently looking for a "great" caregiver to help care for my 85 year old father who has advanced Alzheimer's. He is a fighter, and has bounced back form serious pneumonia earlier this year. He tries to talk and says some words (he is very definitive about what he wants or doesn't) and almost always has a smile on his face. You MUST love dogs as we have a big dog (130 lbs - golden retriever mix) who acts as his care dog at times. You will see yourself as someone who sees care for seniors as your life passion and want to be an extension of the family you are joining. You must know about Alzheimer's and be loving to offer the gentle care necessary to go along with the journey that we are on. We are looking for someone Monday to Friday. Ideally we would like someone to live-in (you must already be in Canada and have working papers - although we are happy to transfer sponsorship for the right person). The hours at minimum are 8am -3pm each day (longer available for a live-in if they desire). Occasionally, we may ask for evening or weekend assistance. The position will include caring him (he is bed and chair bound, so you will need to know how to use a hoyer lift and/or I will teach you) including sponge bathing him each morning, changing him in the morning and mid-day and afternoon, wound care for bed sores when necessary (I will teach you), moving him safely from his bed to his chair, preparing and feeding him breakfast and lunch and afternoon snacks, laundry, some light housekeeping in the house, socializing with him, exercising with him, overseeing doctor/nurse visits to the home and reporting back to daughter on status, taking him for walks (if weather permits) in his wheelchair, etc. You will also be a companion and offer any assistance to my mother (who is perfectly capable, but forgets she is 83) as needed. Please note we are moving to the Ottawa region (from Toronto) at the end of November / beginning of December so looking for someone to transition into that role (may mean a trip to Toronto to get trained for a few days) and start upon our arrival. This position will be on the payroll and receive tax documentation. If interested and a possible good fit for you, then I hope to hear from you. NOTE: Currently house hunting. But house will be within 30 minutes of the Ottawa downtown, and on a transit route.


Availability

You can work:

Live in

Live out

Full-time

Part-time

Long term

Want to be hired by Tanya?


Services Needed

Personal care

Personal care


Dementia care

Dementia care


Physical therapy

Physical therapy


Companion

Companion


Home care

Home care


Your responsibilities will include:

Bathing

Bathing

Bowel care

Bowel care

Medication/blister packs

Medication/blister packs

Administer medication

Administer medication

Housekeeping

Housekeeping

Laundry

Laundry

Meal preparation

Meal preparation


Required Qualifications

Background check

Background check

Drivers license

Drivers license

CPR

CPR

First Aid

First Aid

You can speak:

English

Want to be hired by Tanya?


Training

The minimum education level You have is:

Some university

You have been trained as:

Support worker


Job Details

You can provide care:

In my home

In my home

Additional info:

Comfortable with family pets


Share This Profile


My Other Profiles

Tanya J

Excellent house cleaning skills required for home in Oak Ridges (North Richmond Hill ON)

Similar Profiles Nearby

Near Ottawa, Ontario

Karin K

Seeking live-in care for my elderly parents. Cooking, cleaning and companionship. Downtown location.

Infinity Mobile Care I

Senior Caregiver Needed

Sumeet M

5 day live-in caregiver needed for an awesome older Italian gentleman.

Bayshore H

Hiring PSWs/Caregivers and Home Support Workers

Deanna H

Female Special Needs Caregiver -LIVE IN CAREGIVER ONLY

Find Elder Care Jobs in Ottawa, Ontario

Want to be hired by Tanya?

Similar Profiles Nearby

Near Ottawa, Ontario

Karin K

Seeking live-in care for my elderly parents. Cooking, cleaning and companionship. Downtown location.

Infinity Mobile Care I

Senior Caregiver Needed

Sumeet M

5 day live-in caregiver needed for an awesome older Italian gentleman.

Bayshore H

Hiring PSWs/Caregivers and Home Support Workers

Deanna H

Female Special Needs Caregiver -LIVE IN CAREGIVER ONLY